You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A close-up view of an American XL Bully. Alamy

XL Bully: Government consulting Attorney General about banning dog breed, minister announces

It’s already a criminal offence to own an XL Bully in the UK without a valid license.

LAST UPDATE | 11 Jun 2024

MINISTER FOR RURAL and Community Development Heather Humphreys has said she is consulting with the Attorney General about how a ban on the XL Bully would work in Ireland in a speech addressing the Seanaid this afternoon.

Humphreys said she has also asked former Deputy Garda Commissioner, John Twomey, to chair a Stakeholder Group that will look at “what further actions we can take around strengthening policy and legislation on dog control”.

“I think having a former Deputy Garda Commissioner in charge of that group sends a very clear message about how serious I am about strengthening our enforcement on dog controls,” she said. 

Humphreys said that one of the key issues being prioritised is that of restricted breeds.

“I want to talk specifically about the XL Bully,” she said.

“The XL Bully is a cross-breed of the American Bully and is already covered by the restricted breeds list. I believe we need to go further,” she said.

“I am consulting with the Attorney General on how a ban on the XL Bully would work in Ireland and what legislative changes may be required to give effect to this – that work is underway.”

She said she has asked the Stakeholder Group to look at examples of legislation around the breed in countries like Denmark, the UK and France, which have implemented similar bans.

She said the ban of the XL Bully in the UK has been the subject of a judicial review, “so it’s important we get this right”.

“I know some people will not like hearing this today,” she said. “They will tell me that they own an XL Bully and it would never hurt anybody. I can’t ignore the facts.

“We all love our dogs but no dog’s life is worth more than human life.”

Humphreys has said that the Government does not intend to oppose a Private Members’ Bill put forward by Senators Erin McGreehan, Robbie Gallagher, Eugene Murphy, Micheál Carrigy, Malcolm Byrne and Diarmuid Wilson, calling for further dog controls. 

This move comes after the death of 23-year-old Nicole Morey in Limerick last Tuesday, after she was attacked by her own pet XL Bully dogs. 

“I want to extend my deepest sympathy to the family and friends of Nicole Morey,” Humphreys said, while also referencing an attack on Alejandro Mizsan, a young boy attacked by an XL Bully in Wexford last year.

Speaking on his way into Cabinet this morning, Taoiseach Simon Harris said he would like to see the taskforce conclude its work as quickly as possible. 

“This work needs to happen in an expeditious manner. I think of Nicole Morey and her family, and extend my sympathies and condolences to her at this most tragic and traumatic time for them. But there is a clear need for government auction in relation to this,” said the Taoiseach. 

Harris said his initial view is that the breeds should be banned, but said he is happy to hear from the taskforce, stating that it’s important to listen to them.

There is currently an XL Bully ban in place in the UK, where it’s a criminal offence to own an XL Bully unless you have a valid exemption certificate.

However the breed is restricted in Ireland, alongside Staffordshire, American and English Bull Terriers, Dobermans, German Shepherds, Japanese Akita and Tosa, Rottweilers, Rhodesian Ridgebacks and Bull Mastiffs. 

An XL Bully ban is due to come into effect in Northern Ireland and Humphreys said she believes the Government should be in line with policy in north of the border.

There is currently no register for restricted dog breeds in Ireland, so we don’t know how many XL Bully dogs are in the country. 

XL Bully dogs were banned by the UK government as it said that they have been “disproportionately” involved in dog attack deaths in recent years. 

The UK XL Bully ban was introduced in October 2023 – the government received over 60,000 license applications before the law was implemented.

The dogs are highly muscular, and are the result of inbreeding by breeders.

Restricted dog breeds in Ireland must be muzzled in a public space, kept by someone over 16 who is able to control them, walked on a strong short leash, and be wearing a collar with the owner’s name and address at all times. 

With reporting by Christina Finn and David Mac Redmond

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

137 Comments
    Mute Leinsterprincess
    Favourite Leinsterprincess
    Jun 11th 2024, 6:30 AM

Well my fluffy is different. He is so gentle and sits when I tell him too sometimes. And I bring it for loads of walks nearly one a month. I love looking tough when I walk down the street because I am over compensating for many things in my life.

Mute J Ven
    Favourite J Ven
    Jun 11th 2024, 6:48 AM

@Leinsterprincess: Too bad for you, if you read the countless Bully XL attacks all over the world, the owners said the same thing: “Oh, my fluffy is different, he’s around the kids and he never attacked anyone”, but once these dogs bites, their jaw lock and it’s lethal. Society’s interest goes above the love for your dog, and I hope they are banned.

Mute Johannes Baader
    Favourite Johannes Baader
    Jun 11th 2024, 6:52 AM

@J Ven: You didn’t get it

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute ecrowley ecrowley
    Favourite ecrowley ecrowley
    Jun 11th 2024, 7:08 AM

@J Ven: Whoosh

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Jun 11th 2024, 7:15 AM

@J Ven: Too early for you? Go get a coffee .

Mute ecrowley ecrowley
    Jun 11th 2024, 7:16 AM

@Leinsterprincess: That is exactly the case.

Mute Bert Carolan
    Favourite Bert Carolan
    Jun 11th 2024, 7:32 AM

@J Ven: Go back to bed.

Mute Tony G
    Favourite Tony G
    Jun 11th 2024, 9:43 AM

@Leinsterprincess: 100%

Mute Megan Ward
    Favourite Megan Ward
    Jun 11th 2024, 9:52 AM

@J Ven: You’ve had a mare here.

Mute Ann neylan
    Favourite Ann neylan
    Jun 11th 2024, 10:41 AM

@J Ven: He was being facetious!

Mute marklars81
    Favourite marklars81
    Jun 11th 2024, 11:09 AM

@J Ven: lol

Mute Mary.E.
    Favourite Mary.E.
    Jun 11th 2024, 12:04 PM

@J Ven:

A round with the toughest boxer would be a doddle compared to an encounter with this terryfing breed.

Mute Aidan Boland
    Favourite Aidan Boland
    Jun 11th 2024, 4:01 PM

@J Ven: I think you missed the satire in the post from @Leinsterprincess

Mute Barry Evans
    Favourite Barry Evans
    Jun 11th 2024, 4:28 PM

@J Ven: that one went straight over your head and landed in the middle of the Irish Sea……..

Mute gordon o loughlin
    Favourite gordon o loughlin
    Jun 11th 2024, 4:28 PM

@J Ven: I think you missed the point

Mute stephen deegan
    Favourite stephen deegan
    Jun 11th 2024, 6:22 PM

@Johannes Baader: Yep, clean over the head.

Mute Patrick MC Dermott
    Favourite Patrick MC Dermott
    Jun 11th 2024, 6:49 PM

@J Ven: It went right over your head. Stick with reading “The Beano”.

Mute aidan bergin
    Favourite aidan bergin
    Jun 11th 2024, 10:58 PM

@J Ven: well that obviously went way over your head.

Mute Fergus Maguire
    Favourite Fergus Maguire
    Jun 12th 2024, 7:05 AM

@J Ven: I don’t think I’ve ever seen someone miss such an obviously sarcastic (albeit poor) post in my life.. major rolleye!

Mute David Lawlor
    Favourite David Lawlor
    Jun 12th 2024, 7:47 AM

@Johannes Baader: and neither did 362 others, and counting..

Mute smatrix mantra
    Favourite smatrix mantra
    Jun 11th 2024, 8:39 AM

“XL dogs result of inbreeding”. Same as their owners.

Mute Michele Milne
    Favourite Michele Milne
    Jun 11th 2024, 4:54 PM

@smatrix mantra: hi was wondering where they came from what breed did the cross with Frankenstein comes to mind….

Mute Pat O Dwyer
    Favourite Pat O Dwyer
    Jun 11th 2024, 7:17 PM

@smatrix mantra: brilliant

Mute Seriously Really
    Favourite Seriously Really
    Jun 11th 2024, 6:38 AM

Great idea! But really…. If this comes into law, how will this be enforced? There is no enforcement for dog licenses, poo littering and irritating ongoing dog barking. Additionally, I recently learned that for any action against a negligent dog owner, the garda, ISPCA and local dog warden must work in tandem. Really, how likely is this… And furthermore, if any of us are having issues with neighbour and their dog… We must lodge a complaint with the district court. What a joke… Laws born to fail… Laws that can eventually cause neighbourhood feuds.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jun 11th 2024, 7:43 AM

@Seriously Really: They have to look like they are doing something to justify their lotto size salaries and pensions, eh?

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jun 11th 2024, 7:47 AM

@David Corrigan: Standard reactive legislating is what we do besht bai

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jun 11th 2024, 8:33 AM

@David Corrigan: as you constantly repeat, be it politicians or civil servants

Mute Jp Cleary
    Favourite Jp Cleary
    Jun 11th 2024, 3:31 PM

@Seriously Really: Agreed. Usual story of legislation up to our eyeballs but no enforcement. Will be the same story with e scooters.

Mute Sergej Simonov
    Favourite Sergej Simonov
    Jun 11th 2024, 7:31 AM

This weekend went in the park with children and at the entrance to the playground a man was seating on the ground with a dangerous dog unmuzzled. Not only children were afraid to pass by but even adults. And absolutely NOTHING can be done in such situations and never will. In some other country maybe but never here.

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke

@Sergej Simonov: How do you know it was a dangerous dog?

Mute Mindful Muinteoir
    Favourite Mindful Muinteoir
    Jun 11th 2024, 7:52 AM

@Michael Burke: Theres a list!

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Jun 11th 2024, 9:21 AM

@Michael Burke: It had acab tattooed on its knuckles and said wha you bleedin lookin at?

Mute Mark Gough
    Favourite Mark Gough
    Jun 11th 2024, 1:05 PM

@Sergej Simonov: what made you think it was dangerous?

Mute HisMastersAlibi
    Favourite HisMastersAlibi
    Jun 11th 2024, 1:33 PM

@Sergej Simonov: I said it to a guy who had two dogs in the flipping swing area of the playground. He was straight in my face threatening to kick my head in. I certainly wasn’t getting in a fight with him in front of all the kids. The dogs were the smaller pitbulls,not a mussel in sight.

Mute Tom Lord
    Favourite Tom Lord
    Jun 11th 2024, 4:27 PM

@Michael Burke: all xl bullys all staffs all fighting dogs are dangerous with no exception

Mute Michael Fielding
    Favourite Michael Fielding
    Jun 11th 2024, 7:43 PM

@HisMastersAlibi: you should have skull dragged him around the park, the pr!ck

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Jun 11th 2024, 8:03 PM

@Mindful Muinteoir: They are listed as dangerous breeds, they are listed as restricted breeds.

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Jun 11th 2024, 8:05 PM

@Tom Lord: Potentially, not definitively.

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Jun 11th 2024, 8:07 PM

@Michael Burke: ^^not listed as dangerous breeds

Mute HAC
    Favourite HAC
    Jun 12th 2024, 2:26 PM

@Mindful Muinteoir: a list doesn’t make a dog dangerous. A dangerous dog is all on how an owner treats their dog. I have a big breed (not a banned or restricted one) and people automatically think he is dangerous, he isn’t, he loves when people come to say hi and gets very excited. Because he has been treated right!!!!

Mute If you're
    Favourite If you're
    Jun 11th 2024, 6:54 AM

Have all the laws you want, whose going to enforce? I’ll be a dog warden, it seems to be a cushy number. In common with a lot of public sector jobs, there is a job description and there is the role, which appear to be two different things.
    I’m not usually in favor of bans but there is a strong case here.

Mute and the hit's just keep coming
    Favourite and the hit's just keep coming
    Jun 11th 2024, 2:58 PM

@If you’re: but as you correctly say who will enforce it ….the laws of the land can’t be enforced as it is …so its basically a law in name that’s all

Mute Gerry Dornan
    Favourite Gerry Dornan
    Jun 11th 2024, 8:51 AM

We also need to ban the owners…

Mute Notty Tee
    Favourite Notty Tee
    Jun 11th 2024, 10:05 AM

Beyond belief these aren’t banned. I am a dog lover, but these and others are just asking for trouble. There is complicity in inaction.

Mute Mindful Muinteoir
    Favourite Mindful Muinteoir
    Jun 11th 2024, 7:51 AM

What you need is enforcement of laws for the its-the-owners-not-the-breed brigade who think the laws dont apply to them and their dog would never!! So many owners don’t/won’t get it !

Mute Will Q
    Favourite Will Q
    Jun 11th 2024, 9:54 AM

All dogs must be kept on a leash and under the owners control..all dogs can inflict injury,some more then others..

Mute Notty Tee
    Favourite Notty Tee
    Jun 11th 2024, 10:07 AM

@Will Q: Ah come on… Seriously? Pffff

Mute Notty Tee
    Favourite Notty Tee
    Jun 11th 2024, 10:08 AM

@Will Q: Ah come on… Seriously. Pfffff

Mute Will Q
    Favourite Will Q
    Jun 11th 2024, 10:43 AM

@Notty Tee: I have the scars on my hand and leg after being bitten by a Jack Russell,I have the scars on my neck and back after being bitten by a German Shepherd as a 9 year old kid..so speaking from my own experience,I would say seriously “Yes.”…

Mute Seanfhear míshásta
    Favourite Seanfhear míshásta
    Jun 11th 2024, 4:22 PM

@Notty Tee: Yes, seriously. Our dog had to be euthanised following an attack by dogs on leads that were not under control.

Mute declan holden
    Favourite declan holden
    Jun 11th 2024, 5:10 PM

@Will Q: exactly and well said .any dog can do serious damage . Yes agreed with other people’s comments on larger dogs but if you were in my shoes with a child that was bitten on the face by a so called friendly family dog and your son needed plastic surgery and almost lost an eye you would understand that all dogs can bite.

Mute The Firestarter
    Favourite The Firestarter
    Jun 11th 2024, 11:06 AM

Why anyone would want such dogs as ‘pets’ is beyond me, and you know you’re in trouble when getting the Police to shoot them is the only way to calm them down. They should be banned straight away, and anyone found keeping these dogs should be locked up.

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Jun 11th 2024, 6:02 PM

Now that you mention it, surely there are some ways to restrain a dog like this? Tasers, maybe. Tranquillisers.
    I reckon it’s a seriously bad idea to have fully armed Guards going around, especially if they’re supposed to take an attacking dog off a child. Way too risky to be firing at a loose animal.

Mute HAC
    Favourite HAC
    Jun 12th 2024, 2:31 PM

@The Firestarter: people buy these dogs for the wrong reasons but why are all the dogs being painted with the same brush and the responsible dog owners being punished? Dogs aren’t born bad, stupid humans make them that way.

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Jun 11th 2024, 7:29 AM

What about aggressive dog behaviour of dogs barking and howling at everything and everyone? When you call the warden there is no answer ?

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Jun 11th 2024, 7:56 AM

@Dominic Leleu: a dog barking isn’t necessarily aggressive. It may be irritating to some , especially if you start listening for it.

Mute HAC
    Favourite HAC
    Jun 12th 2024, 2:32 PM

@Dominic Leleu: dogs bark for all sorts of reasons, it doesn’t mean they are aggressive

Mute Maurice F Glennon
    Favourite Maurice F Glennon
    Jun 11th 2024, 10:12 AM

Extreme inbreeding of animals should be banned altogether for both pets & farm animals. It’s bad both for the animals and for the general public. Also, we have to do something serious about anti-social behaviour. Thugs now rule the streets.

Mute Ollie McGlinchey
    Favourite Ollie McGlinchey
    Jun 11th 2024, 12:59 PM

I owned a staffie and he was an extremely affectionate dog, which is common for the breed. I would never leave him alone with a child though or own four of them. XL bullys seem like a really extreme version which nobody needs to own.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin

Never the dog ALWAYS the owner.

Mute ecrowley ecrowley
    Jun 11th 2024, 7:57 AM

@Thesaltyurchin: Except for when punishment is called for, it seems.

Mute Lydia Mcloughlin
    Favourite Lydia Mcloughlin
    Jun 11th 2024, 8:03 AM

@Thesaltyurchin: agree in the most part but some dogs are just not meant to socialise like some people. Out for a walk recently and a beautiful bully dropped his ball and ran towards my 12 yr old springer I could see he was friendly and wanted to play but he was young and they get up in older dogs faces who don’t like it so they give out and bark. Well, the bully owner was so aggressive. Her fell should have been on a lead and muzzled but wasn’t but if had to muzzle would be her not the dog!

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jun 11th 2024, 8:13 AM

@Lydia Mcloughlin: your story is the perfect example of it being the owners fault, not the dog

Mute Lydia Mcloughlin
    Favourite Lydia Mcloughlin
    Jun 11th 2024, 8:27 AM

@SYaxJ2Ts: absolutely.

Mute Nick Vasilakis
    Favourite Nick Vasilakis
    Jun 11th 2024, 10:10 AM

@Thesaltyurchin: Rubbish.

Mute Etcher
    Favourite Etcher
    Jun 11th 2024, 2:38 PM

@Thesaltyurchin: “Never the dog” would you give me a break. There’s a reason Pit Bull Terriers, Japanese Tosas and Dobermann Pinschers must be muzzled in Ireland and it ain’t the owners. It’s the innate, inherent, aggressive nature of these animals that render them unpredictable and highly irascible and thus unsafe to be unmuzzled around the soft, tearable flesh of a human child.

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Jun 11th 2024, 4:13 PM

@Thesaltyurchin: can we ban the owners also (and their children).

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jun 11th 2024, 7:27 PM

@Etcher: Nope, it’s the genetics of why their bred, for most blood dogs, it’s in their ‘nature’ to chase rats, badgers, etc… not to eat someones face ffs. I will change my statement as it was slightly misleading… almost never the dog ALWAYS the owner. Here’s a link from the internet (maybe try using it properly sometime) “https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/American_Bully

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jun 11th 2024, 7:30 PM

@Thomas Sheridan: That’s what should happen, but we prefer the reactive path of least resistance, so, low ebb unenforced legislation it will be. Unless the two above M0r0ns have their way!.. dogs will stand trial or somesuch.

Mute HAC
    Favourite HAC
    Jun 12th 2024, 2:34 PM

@Lydia Mcloughlin: people like that shouldn’t be allowed dogs, because that dog was friendly, too much time with her when he gets older he won’t be. Don’t ban breeds, people who want to buy dogs need to get a license and do a training course, simple. I have a big breed dog (not restricted breed) would be more than happy to do anything necessary to keep them. Then you can weed out the people buying the dogs for the wrong reasons versus genuine dog lovers.

Mute Sean Money
    Favourite Sean Money
    Jun 11th 2024, 8:55 AM

These dogs are psycho feckers and should be neutralised

Mute smatrix mantra
    Favourite smatrix mantra
    Jun 11th 2024, 8:37 AM

What’s the threshold for our reactive legislation? 10 ppl mauled to death? 20? 100?

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jun 11th 2024, 7:31 PM

@smatrix mantra: depends how the media spin it

Mute AnthonyK
    Favourite AnthonyK
    Jun 11th 2024, 7:36 AM

Very few dogs, barring those that serve a useful purpose, should be permitted.

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Jun 11th 2024, 7:48 AM

@AnthonyK: Ludicrous

Mute Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Jun 11th 2024, 8:03 AM

@Michael Burke: you must be the owner of one of those restricted breeds or just practicing your typing skills and trying to get at people’s ankles!!

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Jun 11th 2024, 8:08 PM

@Ollie Fitzpatrick: No, the beautiful Kerry Blue Terrier would be my breed of preference.

Mute HAC
    Favourite HAC
    Jun 12th 2024, 2:35 PM

@AnthonyK: are you a bit thick? You actually want to ban all dogs? For what purpose? Absolute madness, how entitled are you that you think my dog is somewhat inferior to you?

Mute Emmet Noonan
    Favourite Emmet Noonan
    Jun 11th 2024, 10:18 AM

Muzzling of powerful dog breeds in public is needed. Only some owners seem to do this, many I see don’t.

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Jun 11th 2024, 1:03 PM

I threw a ball for my dog … It’s a bit extravagant I know, but it was his birthday and he looks great in a dinner jacket.

Mute Mick Hanna
    Favourite Mick Hanna
    Jun 11th 2024, 11:19 AM

Mandatory MUZZLES for the dog’s on the list. Be a Responsible dog owner…don’t regret and suffer the consequences of a hurt child or person. Its Not worth the chance.

Mute Donal Martin
    Favourite Donal Martin
    Jun 11th 2024, 1:54 PM

Why are the current laws not enforced, I see these dogs out all the time with no mussle on. If they can’t enforce ac simple law like that what chance do we have of then enforcing a ban. These are dangerous dogs and if they get hold of you there is little chance you get away with no serious life changing injuries.

Mute no no no
    Favourite no no no
    Jun 11th 2024, 10:27 AM

Even poodles attack people unless they are properly trained by their owners. I’ve seen many larger dogs when in France on bike paths and forest areas… Dogs there are very well behaved, they do what the owner says, sit still based on hand signals. Quite a lot of dog owners also do that in Ireland which is great but there are always those who shouldn’t own dogs at all

Mute Stephen Heffernan
    Favourite Stephen Heffernan
    Jun 11th 2024, 12:03 PM

@no no no: Some breeds, like the XL Bully, are unpredictable and overly aggressive by their nature. You could be the best dog owner/trainer in the world and it wouldn’t change the fact that these particular breeds could turn on you, or others, at any time. They are not ‘pets’ and absolutely should be banned.

Mute IMHO
    Favourite IMHO
    Jun 11th 2024, 11:34 AM

South Dublin County Council has one dog warden. I won’t hold my breath.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Jun 11th 2024, 10:07 AM

All breeds should be muzzled and leashed while in public.

Euthanise dogs that are not.

Problem solved.

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Jun 11th 2024, 10:48 AM

@Paul: Go get a life

Mute Lilly Lalogue
    Favourite Lilly Lalogue
    Jun 11th 2024, 4:13 PM

@Paul: That’s like saying EVERY man should be muzzled or stay at home because he might be a mugger or worse.

Mute M G
    Favourite M G
    Jun 11th 2024, 11:49 AM

Nothing to discuss ban them before more people suffer

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Jun 11th 2024, 3:00 PM

How are people able to afford to feed these monsters when they’re on the dole?

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Jun 11th 2024, 11:39 AM

That is one ugly dog !

Mute sakk sa
    Favourite sakk sa
    Jun 11th 2024, 8:40 AM

Small amendment should be added , any owner of any dog responsible to clean the roads,parks front of any shop.
    Or implement DNA test for the sh. It ! Fines are good

Mute Ross
    Favourite Ross
    Jun 11th 2024, 4:07 PM

Banning dogs when the current laws are not enforced is again more lip services from this government. I am lucky enough to live with a German shepard, most affectionate and at times gentle dog in the world. However he is always kept on a lead when out around others and even at home when young children are around. I understand what he is capable of and as such I keep him exercised, stimulated and engaged. If you are considering getting a dog on the restricted breed list please ensure you will have ample time to provide your dog the same. As a dog person I would like to see services such as ISPCA and local dog wardens sufficiently funded and staffed before banning certain breeds.

Mute Nick O'Halloran
    Favourite Nick O'Halloran
    Jun 11th 2024, 1:38 PM

Instead of banning dogs, ban people who neglect or abuse animals, as this behavior is unacceptable and can lead to harm

Mute Etcher
    Favourite Etcher
    Jun 11th 2024, 2:41 PM

@Nick O’Halloran: Eh, Animal Health and Welfare Act 2013, Welfare of Greyhounds Act 2011, Greyhound Racing Act 2019, Dog Breeding Establishments Act 2010 and Control of Horses Act 1996? All have provision for fines and/or jail time.

Mute Fifi Ryan
    Favourite Fifi Ryan
    Jun 11th 2024, 4:45 PM

I’m the owner of a staffie, he is licenced, micro chipped,DNA tested, insured and always on a restricted lead and muzzled when I’m out with him. It’s not rocket science,be responsible for it’s the dog that will suffer in the end.

Mute Charles Mc Carthy
    Favourite Charles Mc Carthy
    Jun 11th 2024, 5:13 PM

@Fifi Ryan: Then I don’t expect anything else. Fair play, enjoy your Dog. Other owners however don’t give a poodle about such responsibility and they are not happy this is even being discussed. They are one’s that you should be really peeved with imho.

Mute Scott Milne
    Favourite Scott Milne
    Jun 11th 2024, 5:58 PM

Dangerous dog breeds should be banned and it be a criminal offence to hold a dangerous breed. There is no reason for people to own such dogs

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Jun 11th 2024, 6:07 PM

I’d say have an exemption for rescued dogs. Natural attrition would phase them out, because rescues are always spayed or neutered first.
    And obviously muzzle them in public places and have them on a strong lead with an adult holding them. But I’d hate to think we’re as bad as the UK and would put down someone’s pet for no reason. Bad enough we’re supposed to pay a TV licence even if we don’t have a television. Why not draw a line and ban future XLs, then register any existing pets as restricted breed?

Mute Sammydavissenior.
    Favourite Sammydavissenior.
    Jun 11th 2024, 4:15 PM

Never see these dogs been walked in Foxrock or Dalkey.

Mute Éanna o Sca
    Favourite Éanna o Sca
    Jun 11th 2024, 4:26 PM

Anyone owning a XL has one for a reason – protection. Obviously involved in some dodgy activities.

Mute Michael Dunphy
    Favourite Michael Dunphy
    Jun 11th 2024, 4:57 PM

Let’s see how long it takes for our legislators to legislate.

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Jun 11th 2024, 12:40 PM

The biggest threat to children’s safety is their parents! But of course let’s avoid that issue and ban dogs!

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Jun 11th 2024, 4:01 PM

@Jimmy Wallace: No they don’t! You can train a Labrador to kill a person just as easy to train it to be a guide dog! It’s the human behind the training that’s the problem!

Mute daragh harmon
    Favourite daragh harmon
    Jun 11th 2024, 5:32 PM

My Boxer was attacked on two separate occasions by two different chocolate coloured labradors one was off its lead and the other came out of its house and attacked as I was walking by. A lot of this comes down to owners and how responsible they are. Dogs should not be off leads no matter what breed they are, and should be secured in the property. There should also be a cap on how many you can own.

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Jun 11th 2024, 6:09 PM

@daragh harmon: Sorry to hear, boxers are lovely dogs. I think the legal issues here are based on the fact that thankfully an adult could take their medium dog out of range, where with an XL bully dog, there’s no controlling them.

Mute he didnt take the 120k because he already got it s
    Favourite he didnt take the 120k because he already got it s
    Jun 11th 2024, 4:25 PM

A month ago the govt released ads “if your dog bites someone its not your dogs fault, its yours, if your dog attacks someone its not your dogs fault, its yours, now they are blaming the dog

Mute Gerry Lamont
    Favourite Gerry Lamont
    Jun 11th 2024, 4:10 PM

This gov are able to make and implement rules when it suits them so why do they need to consult anyone?.Certain dogs are a danger to society so ban them. How many more people need to be torn apart or killed before Humphries gets off her backside?

Mute Michael o Dwyer
    Favourite Michael o Dwyer
    Jun 11th 2024, 3:45 PM

I’m sure there are very nice xl bully’s but in my own opinion they are still to close to being fighting dogs not pets. Still breeding good fighting dogs with good fighting dogs. I’m sure for years if there were any that were to nice they were killed. The killing just hasn’t been bred out of them yet

Mute James `CLIFFORD
    Favourite James `CLIFFORD
    Jun 11th 2024, 1:42 PM

Ahhh, prime example of the wokism cancel culture at its very best. If it cant be controlled lets just ban it and im not just speaking about the xl bully but the uneducated, unelected leader of this soft country had the cheek to say that multiple types of dogs should be banned. Nah, sorry, not gonna happen

Mute Etcher
    Favourite Etcher
    Jun 11th 2024, 2:43 PM

@James `CLIFFORD: Some stretch there shoehorning in banning vicious dog breeds with “woke cancel culture”.

Mute its so unfair
    Favourite its so unfair
    Jun 11th 2024, 4:20 PM

It’s not the dog breed it’s owner who hasent got a clue how to train them

Mute David Lawlor
    Favourite David Lawlor
    Jun 12th 2024, 7:58 AM

@its so unfair: This breed is capable of way more damage. Ban. End of.

Mute Niall Fennessy
    Favourite Niall Fennessy
    Jun 11th 2024, 3:55 PM

It’s sad this girl was killed by a bully find out circumstances before you comdem every bully

Mute Daniel Skelton
    Favourite Daniel Skelton
    Jun 11th 2024, 4:06 PM

“iTs ThE oWnEr AnD nOt ThE dOg!!!!!”

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Jun 11th 2024, 4:14 PM

Dogs like humans are pack animals , and will always push thier boundaries.

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Jun 11th 2024, 6:16 PM

Ah, that’s going a bit far. Dogs are playful animals. They have a lot of restraint and self-control when raised properly and sociably. They understand a lot of normal cues. They normally have loads of options before getting to a point where they show, or use their teeth, even on another dog. We’re all forgetting here that some human beings are the most dangerous mammals walking the earth. We don’t muzzle tall people who haven’t done any harm!

Mute Sun Rise
    Favourite Sun Rise
    Jun 11th 2024, 8:59 PM

People blaming the owners and taking responsibility are half correct. Many owners of these dogs, from my observation, tend to be less than model citizens that I would not trust with a dog but it has to be said that the breed of dog are horrifically dangerous. I have no doubt that not every Golden Retriever oowner can’t train their dogs very well but it is rare (if ever) that they savage somebody and kill them. These digs are dangerous. Some as that.

Mute Pink Freud
    Favourite Pink Freud
    Jun 11th 2024, 3:37 PM

A total ban would be utterly stupid. Foolish.

We can already see, with Britain, it just drives that which is already half underground (garden shed test-tube puppy making), deeper underground.
    They didn’t even allow owners a means of storing reproductive product (because that is half the reason most people own them. The cash-in-hand, off-the-books, breeding business). They could have said “register dog, collect&store semen/ova, free to sell abroad, but not in UK, then licence/surrender”.

Britain did establish one good system though – prohibiting the passing on of dogs to other persons by gift or otherwise. So criminals can’t have mammy register the dog, then take it to illegal dog fights. Nor can they intimidate anyone into taking over ownership.

Article quote:
    “There is no register for Restricted Dogs in Ireland” – what sort of half-arsed mickey mouse job was that?!
    Fer jaysus sakes lads.
    Un-be-ducking-lievable.
    That should be called the “non-restriction of unrestricted restricted dog breeds” law.

I knew something didn’t compute a few years ago when I was jumped up on and fully mouthed on the forearm, repeatedly, by a young German Shepherd and the owner didn’t apologise or see a problem with it.
    Thanks to a brain injury, I hadn’t retained applied knowledge of the restrictions, much less acceptable young dog behaviour across various breeds. But instinctively knew something wasn’t ‘normal’, or ‘right’ – this wasn’t mere excusable youthful exuberance.

Now I know why – that breed should have been muzzled to begin with. Especially if the “jumping on stangers” lesson hadn’t even been learned yet.

Luckily, I have no fear of dogs. And even with full knowledge restored now, I would still have no problems with being ‘mouthed’ by a youngster. So long as that youngster **is** in training and *is* being appropriately disciplined after the act. What I have no tolerance for is feckless neglectful clueless owners who reject the fact that they *must* establish a hierarchy with their ‘domesticated WOLF’.
    That they are Master.
    That they and their families eat first, dogs later. Not simultaneously. And not as a result of begging.
    A dog is not a bunny, for kissing and cuddling.
    Nor should a dog be treated as an equal, like a cat.
    A cat is both predator, and prey, like a human.
    A dog (wolf) is predator, only, and the prey of none.

Perhaps the most apt article of the week on this topic, is the one in the Limerick Leader.
    It is the PSI, of any creature, that should count when it comes to restrictions and bans and especially in the establishing of the “defining characters/confirmation for legislative prohibition or regulation”, rather than the squabble over whether a cross breed fits the restricted/banned breed parameters.

The Pounds Per Square Inch of bite pressure.
    Surely this is the point of sole concern.
    I expect the IMO and Medical Professionals would completely agree.
    If it bites like a Shark, like a Lion, like a Tiger…
    ..then obviously it cannot co-exist with humans and lifestock in their daily/living environments.

And that’s before we touch on the probable neuro-behavioural problems of the unpredictable XL Bully psycho’ “flipswitch”.

With immediate effect, XLs should be in a *double* harness. They should be controlled at the chest, where all their muscle is, with a vest-lead harness. So that the walker can throw their entire weight to the ground behind the Bully and control pull on the chest with two hands.
    This in addition to a dual muzzle-lead to turn their head towards dog walker.
    And an obligation to carry pepper or citrus spray to force release of a bite.
    All this should be enforceable, with National microchip registration, with immediate effect in a temporary emergency law. As a test, a trial run, from which pros and cons can be deciphered for a path towards total breed extinction in 20 years (end-of-life for this year’s pups currently in utero).

And anyway, since there is no obligation to register in Ireland, and no unified National Microchip system, how would you even find a banned, or restricted, breed in Ireland, to ban it or call it up for aggression assessment/handler training&testing or to enforce neutering&spaying/a breeding moratorium or prohibition?
    Utter stupidness!
    Compel registration on a National Register first.
    Then discuss calling Restricted breeds up for aggression testing with Garda-ISPCA teams. Like a “licenced dog NCT”, or suspending/banning breeding, or manditory control equipment for each restricted breed (because, fyi, muzzles **cause** madness!! Muzzles should be for Sharks and Lions only. Based on PSI. And/or based on outcome of bi-annual canine NCTs)

Mute Pink Freud
    Favourite Pink Freud
    Jun 11th 2024, 3:56 PM

Let’s also be clear here.
    We don’t even know if Nicole Morey was an accident or a DV *murder*?
    They shot the dog, without examining it’s behaviour, or having historic knowledge. Was the dog consistently triggered by all people at that entry point to the home? By women? By certain commands? By running/jogging/fast moving mammals? Or just the typical XL Bully flipswitch to psycho’ mode?

XL Bullies can be unleashed on command or control of a DV partner. For example. Not just criminals or drug dealers intimidating people.
    While probably not the case with Nicole, the fact is a DV partner could train an XL to attack if 1 person is leaving the property on their own (i.e. fleeing a DV situation). A Bully could be trained to prevent a victim fleeing the property on their own, as much as they could be trained to attack people entering a property.

So if we’re gonna ban anything.
    Start with who should definitely never own restricted dogs – those with a history of any form of violence or criminal aggression. Domestic violence, sexual violence, criminal record, anti-social behaviour etc. Maybe even a Psychological temperament test for possessing and controlling a lethal weapon.

A dog, like a child, will naturally manifest what it witnesses. Not just what it is ordered or told or trained or conditioned to do. The difference with a higher intelligence species – a human – is that a human can empathise with a victim and self-learn opposing (opposite) behaviours to the aggressor.

We shouldn’t be so surprised by the lackluster attitude to Restricted Dogs in Ireland.
    Afterall, following a number of gun-related Famicides, the FFG Government **and Garda Harris himself**, reassured the public that there were “such” enormously restrictive protocols for gun owners, and everyone was sooo safe.

Then we get 2 incidents of people running amok with guns, **on cocaine**, in public forests ffs!
    Where is the obligatory piss test and breathalyser in the local Garda Station, before the local Garda Station releases your gun to you for legitimate hunting, from the bunker buried locker under the Garda Station for all the guns of local licenced gun owners?

…just as a starting point…

Mute David Walll
    Favourite David Walll
    Jun 11th 2024, 4:04 PM

Go on for ages so

Mute Maria Cunningham
    Favourite Maria Cunningham
    Jun 12th 2024, 7:41 AM

They need to be banned, it’s a pity they were ever created…. I absolutely love dogs… and I can understand how heartbreaking it will be for anyone who owns one and has spent a fortune on it to be annoyed and upset especially if they look after their one and have no issues. However we can’t ignore the capacity these dogs have to kill.. they are similar to lions walking around….and very threatening for anyone walking by them. I have seen lots of young people under the age of 16 walking them and struggling to control them on the lead. I have never seen of these dogs with a muzzle. They should all be wearing muzzles when brought for a walk and should not be accompanied by a child, should be an adult with them.

Mute aeX06eDn
    Favourite aeX06eDn
    Jun 11th 2024, 5:14 PM

Muzzle the owners (SI)

Mute Sun Rise
    Favourite Sun Rise
    Jun 11th 2024, 8:55 PM

Welcome back Chief Shill Corrigan. You have been very quiet as SF tanked in the recent elections. Did your employers in Belfast order you to keep quiet on here?

Mute John Doe
    Favourite John Doe
    Jun 12th 2024, 1:06 AM

Highlight bad owners and educate owners, not condemn the breed of dog .. Owners who want a restricted breed should apply for a special licence, let home checks and education be part of that process.

Mute Veil
    Favourite Veil
    Jun 12th 2024, 10:52 AM

@John Doe: do you not get it, the breed IS INHERENTLY DANGEROUS. If you do not understand that, Google it, it’s free. There is no training for these animals; its like trying to train a lion not to attack humans. It is in their DNA. Their genetics tells them to attack, maim and kill. End off. Please educate yourself on that. It’s all available on the internet for free.